Australian Infront

Login OR Register
  • News
  • Jobs
  • Folio
  • Forum
  • Profiles
  • Involved
  • Market
  • Shop
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
Home / Forum / Help / Was asked to Pay to internship, is it scam?
— BACK TO FORUM

FORUM START A THREAD

START A THREAD

AUS INFRONT FORUM

Welcome to the Aus Infront forum. Fun place to hang out, see some work, share your thoughts and get some help. All we ask is that you play nice and that you don't feed the trolls.

Start A Conversation

Creative Threads507

Discussion Threads1046

Help Threads476

News Threads2155

Off Topic Threads139

Technical Threads261

RULES & HOW TO USE THE FORUM

SOCIAL CONDUCT

A FEW SIMPLE RULES

• This forum is for the specific use of Australian creatives. Keep your post short and relevant.

• Remember to show respect to your fellow prospective colleagues (and potential future clients).

• Spamming, phishing or job ads are not allowed in this forum. Administrators have the right to delete your post if you don’t play nice.

• Repeat offenders will be banned from the forum permanently. 

For further clarification, please refer to our Rules of Conduct.

Karensplam

Karensplam
JOINED 04.12.12
POSTS 3
— WEBSITE

Was asked to Pay to internship, is it scam?

Posted 08.12.2012 @ 12.02PM

I completed my Diploma of graphic design course and couldn't find any full time job, so I am trying to get internships to gain experiences first. On pedestrian.tv I found an Ad from an agency saying they offer an unpaid internship, I applied for it and they sent me a document which I need to accept the T&C before an interview. It states there is a cost of $1500, which was not mentioned in the Ad or in their company's website... is it possible?

comment
signmeupmeow

signmeupmeow
JOINED 19.05.12
POSTS 65

Posted 08.12.2012 @ 12.17PM

Sounds scammish. Whats the company?

comment
Karensplam

Karensplam
JOINED 04.12.12
POSTS 3
— WEBSITE

Posted 08.12.2012 @ 12.31PM

The Agency is called Ausphin (http://ausphin.com.au)

I was trying to research on internet other than their own website, on Linkedin they do registered but have no follower... the more I research the more I feel strange... I was arranged to an interview on Monday, should I go?

The Ad I applied for:
http://www.pedestrian.tv/jobs/work-experience-internships/graphic-design-intern/fa0b648a-9dec-4ecf-b46f-228bd57ca9ec.htm

comment
Dan

Dan
JOINED 10.01.10
POSTS 512

Posted 08.12.2012 @ 3.10PM

The fact it's unpaid is against the law. Paying for it is just stupid. Walk away and look elsewhere.

comment
very_honest

very_honest
JOINED 08.12.12
POSTS 1

Posted 08.12.2012 @ 4.32PM

the site looks stockish and the process does seem unsual.... is pedestrian.tv reputable site to find jobs or can anyone place a job advertisement?

comment
kipp_brady

kipp_brady
JOINED 25.06.10
POSTS 274
— WEBSITE

Posted 08.12.2012 @ 4.51PM (Edited 08.12.2012 @ 4.53PM)

Are they recruiting for someone else or for there SEO division.

Either way take Dan's advice. Send them an email telling them your no longer interested in the position.

comment
Karensplam

Karensplam
JOINED 04.12.12
POSTS 3
— WEBSITE

Posted 09.12.2012 @ 2.39AM

Thanks for the advice and I am sending an email to reject them now. I won't be paying as I would rather use $1500 to do a few Tafe course...

comment
scotty

scotty
JOINED 04.03.10
POSTS 916
— WEBSITE

Posted 09.12.2012 @ 2.51AM

Never heard of such a thing.

Tell them where to get off and to send all their further e-mails to you with the subject of "Cheap Viagra" on top.

Take your cash and get drunk.

comment
tpaindesign

tpaindesign
JOINED 23.08.10
POSTS 113
— WEBSITE

Posted 10.12.2012 @ 9.29AM

"The fact it's unpaid is against the law. Paying for it is just stupid. Walk away and look elsewhere."

Well said, Dan. I was in an unpaid one :s took what I needed and not coming back next year!! ;D ha

comment
zack486

zack486
JOINED 11.01.10
POSTS 491
— WEBSITE

Posted 10.12.2012 @ 1.35PM (Edited 10.12.2012 @ 1.38PM)

that is possibly the most stupid thing i have ever heard and they need to explain it in full.
report them to AGDA. lol.
if they are asking for payment they should be investigated by someone.

comment
Pages: 1 , 2 
ADD YOUR COMMENT

You will need to login or register to join the discussion.

©99-12 Australian Infront Pty Ltd
  • See All About Us
  • Read Our Copyright & Usage Policy
  • Read Our Privacy Policy
  • Skim The Terms & Conditions
  • Learn Our Rules Of Conduct
Analogue
  • AUSTRALIAN INFRONT PTY LTD
  • PO Box 872
  • MAROUBRA NSW 2035
  • AUSTRALIA
Digital
  • General: gday@ausinfront.com
  • Support: support@ausinfront.com
  • Advertising: advertise@ausinfront.com
  • FOLLOW US ON TWITTER
  • LIKE US ON FACEBOOK
Thanks
  • HOSTING: DIGITAL PACIFIC
  • PRINTING: DIGITALPRESS
  • PRINT DESIGN: SOUTHSOUTHWEST
  • DIGITAL DESIGN / DEVELOPMENT: EXPO
  • FONT: Lineto